Due to the EU’s Global Data Protection Regulation, our website is currently unavailable to visitors from most European countries. We apologize for this inconvenience and encourage you to visit www.motortrend.com for the latest on new cars, car reviews and news, concept cars and auto show coverage, awards and much more.MOTORTREND.COM
  • |
  • |
  • NHRDA Diesels on the Mountain 2014

NHRDA Diesels on the Mountain 2014

Vollmer sets Pro Street record at 159.38 mph

Jun 6, 2014
Diesel performance is the name of the game when it comes to the National Hot Rod Diesel Association. The NHRDA Diesels on the Mountain 2014 presented by ATS Diesel Performance took place in the Denver, Colorado area on May 30-31, 2014. Jefferson County Fairground was the venue for Friday night’s sled pull, which naturally attracted a crowd as well as clouds. Although torrential rain wreaked havoc on the track, the hard-working crew got it back in usable shape so that over fifty hooks could be made. The dyno was unfortunately shut down for safety reasons—lightning.
Photo 5/25   |   Nhrda Diesels On The Mountain 2014 11
Bandimere Speedway served as a pristine drag racing track for setting records on Saturday, but the high altitude strove to challenge the tuning skills of all teams and make a mockery of these precision diesel performance machines. Luckily, these otherwise praiseworthy characteristics of scenic Denver—weather and altitude—could not thwart the overall competitive action of this fifth stop of the NHRDA tour. In fact, Diesels on the Mountain thrived as we saw a high level of diesel performance.
Photo 6/25   |   Nhrda Diesels On The Mountain 2014 1
Sled Pull
In the Super Stock class of the NHRDA Sled Pulling Series, the win went to Ogden, Utah’s Ken Jones (’10 Dodge) with a distance of 236.42 feet. In the 3.0 Class, the win went to Stansbury Park, Utah’s Tom Hansen (’05 Dodge) with a distance of 238.08 feet. With this victory, Hansen regained the lead in the National points chase. In the 2.6 Class, the win went to Colorado Springs local Jared Patterson (’95 Dodge) with a distance of 236.92 feet.
Photo 16/25   |   Nhrda Diesels On The Mountain 2014 14
MBRP Performance Exhaust Diesel Drag Racing Results
In the Pro Stock class, the G & J Diesel ’96 Chevy “Dirty Max,” piloted by Ryan Milliken, was the number one qualifier with an 8.91-second ET at 147.94 mph. He defeated the ’67 Chevy of Canadian Kevin Douglas in the finals, although both trucks had trouble off the line. Although there’s tons more racing to come, it’s setting up to be a National Championship season of stellar diesel performance for owner Brad Makinen and his Dirty Max crew.
Current Pro Stock points standings: Ryan Milliken (330); Wade Moody (50); Kevin Douglas (40).
In the Pro Street class, Jarid Vollmer, pilot of the 5.9L 24-valve Bully Dog Cummins ’07 Dodge, qualified in the number one spot with an 8.89 at 159.23. That’s fast – real fast—and crazily enough, he went even faster after that, so that the 159.23 served as the backup for a new national Pro Street MPH record of 159.38 mph. This beat his previous record of 157.08 mph which he accomplished almost a year ago on June 8, 2013, at Lucas Oil Raceway. Vollmer defeated Matt Kubik (’05 Ranger) in the finals by running a 9.16 at 157.93 mph over Kubik’s 9.89 at 140.87.
Current Pro Street points standings: Jarid Vollmer (310); Matt Kubik (100); Shawn Proctor (80).
The Super Street class saw some good racing action, with Ryan Milliken (’07 Dodge) running a 9.82 at 142.97 to edge out the 10.90 at 133.50 of Andrea Coddens, pilot of “Max’d Out” (’02 Sierra). Milliken drives the Pro Stock Dirty Max truck, but also competes in Super Street with his personal Cummins-powered truck, “Buckwheat.” Max’d Out, with Rob Coddens behind the wheel, holds both the Super Street ET record (9.65, August ‘12) and MPH record (148.31, September ’11). Why is this important? Enter the number one qualifier, the “Tripple Maxx” ’06 Chevy of Wade Minter, who broke both of these records in qualifying. However, engine trouble prevented Minter from attempting to back up the records, and sent him to the sidelines shy of the first round eliminations. To add insult to injury, Milliken’s points lead increased from 80 to 140 over Minter.
Current Super Street points standings: Ryan Milliken (340 points); Wade Minter (200); Daniel Pierce (120).
The BD Power Super Diesel class win went to Boise, Idaho’s Ryan Dubois, as he cut good lights all through elimination and kept it close to the 11.90 index. In the finals, he was matched up against Greeley, Colorado local Jason Patten, who ran the better ET but was late at the lights. A win at the Super Diesel Nationals (Bakersfield) and now at Diesels on the Mountain put Dubois back on top of the leaderboard.
Current Super Diesel points standings: Ryan Dubois (190); Oscar Cardenas (130); Michael Dalton (130).
In the Strictly Diesel Sportsman class, local Colorado drag racer Arik Frost took home his first ever NHRDA win with a 12.69 ET on a 12.46 ET dial time (reaction time of .071). This was enough to beat the 12.98 ET on a 12.00 ET dial time (reaction time of .082) of Super Diesel class winner Ryan Dubois.
Current Sportsman points standings: Trey Sikes (330); Ryan Dubois (170); Jim Calhoun (160).
Stay tuned for more diesel performance racing! The next event on the NHRDA 2014 schedule is the Indiana Diesel Shootout, June 13-14, at the Lucas Oil Raceway and Marion County Fairgrounds.

Photos Courtesy of the National Hot Rod Diesel Association (NHRDA)



Subscribe Today and Save up to 83%!

Subscribe Truck Trend Magazine

Subscribe to:

Truck Trend

Subscribe Diesel Power Magazine

Subscribe to:

Diesel Power

Subscribe Truckin Magazine

Subscribe to: