Diesel Power Challenge 2014 officially kicked off today with competitor registration and a welcome reception. Believe it or not, this is the 10th DPC. Leading up to the opening of the official registration time in the late afternoon, the competitors' trucks could be spotted at ATS and at the hotel, making last-minute adjustments and for some, major adjustments. Although not all of the competitors were staying at the hotel, most of the trucks had been accounted for by mid-day. By the end of the day, all trucks had arrived; we are set to see all ten trucks on the dyno tomorrow. During a visit to ATS, we came upon a pair of Ohioan competitors--defending champion Wesley Beech ('08 Ford F-250) and Lavon Miller ('04 Dodge Ram 3500)--as well as Canadian Cory Chomos ('11 Chevy 2500). It seemed that Chomos might have been having problems with the ECM; unfortunately the truck didn't make it to registration later in the day. Although Shilo Ellingford and his '06 Chevy 2500 are here, that truck also was not present at registration. We can only hope that all is well for this pair of Duramax trucks. One Ford had a "scare' with registration (as valid registration is a requirement), but it was eventually provided and the truck was officially stickered up. Wesley Beech, last year's champion, has returned with an upgraded truck and was the first truck to be officially registered. Although this time not competing with their own trucks, from last year's DPC we have Paul Cato, Erik Clausen, and Banean Woosley.

We will kick off the first event of DPC 2014 tomorrow morning on the ATS Diesel dyno. Stay tuned for a busy three days of high-horsepower, high-torque action from the gnarliest street-legal diesel trucks in North America.

The Competitors:
Wesley Beech - 2008 Ford F-250, Reigning '13 DPC Champion; Akron, Ohio

Dan Manary - 2012 Ford F350; Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada

Ryan Anderson - 2008 Ford F-250; Farmington Hills, Michigan

Dan Howard - 1995 Ford F-350; North Planes, Oregon

Lavon Miller - 2004 Ram 3500; Plain City, Ohio

Matt Kauffman - 2006 Dodge Ram 3500; Plain City, Ohio

Danick St. Pierre - 2008 Ram 2500; Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Shilo Ellingford - 2006 Chevy 2500

Cory Chomos - 2011 Chevy 2500; Drumheller, Alberta, Canada

Troy Sankey - 2006 Chevy 2500; Stevens Point, Wisconsin