Exclusive Content
Original Shows, Motorsports and Live Events
Due to the EU’s Global Data Protection Regulation, our website is currently unavailable to visitors from most European countries. We apologize for this inconvenience and encourage you to visit www.motortrend.com for the latest on new cars, car reviews and news, concept cars and auto show coverage, awards and much more.MOTORTREND.COM

Winning Isn’t Everything: Awards Ceremony for Diesel Power Challenge 2016

Specialty Awards

KJ Jones
Sep 26, 2016
Contributors: Anthony Soos
Photographers: Diesel Power Staff, Ben Cooper
There’s no doubt about it, Diesel Power Challenge 2016 certainly was a wild ride. It was an event that was full of competitive action, a fair amount of drama, and celebration of the “no-quit” attitude of competitors who fought hard until the very end.
All the contestants who completed DPC 2016 are the epitome of good sportsmen and women, and it was clear their trucks were built with lots of skill and loads of heart. While the Challenge is a competition that ends with winners and losers, the real “victory” for all participants is the camaraderie and friendships that are forged and flourish through the course of an exciting week.
Each year, DPC’s First, Second, and Third Place finishers, as well as participants who display exceptional achievement—mostly good and one not so good—are recognized with trophies and specialty awards, presented at a banquet in the host hotel (the Denver Marriott West in Golden, Colorado). The casual evening affair marks the official close of the event and leaves all finishers—Diesel Power staff included—with a tremendous feeling of accomplishment for all the effort they put forth at DPC.
Photo 2/16   |   Diesel Power Editor KJ Jones was the evening’s host and award presenter.

Total Points Earned

Charlie Keeter: 553.5
Neal Torley: 502
Ray McClelland: 423.2
Kelsie Epp: 393.9
Travis Koller: 383.8
David Ferguson: 373.7
Nathan Stacy: 333.3
Jake Patterson: 80.8

Specialty Awards

People’s Choice: Ray McClelland
Driver’s Skill: Neal Torley
Long Distance: Neal Torley
Carnage: Jake Patterson

On the Podium…

Photo 3/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards Winner
Photo 4/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards First
Photo 5/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards Second
Photo 6/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards Third
While there were many awards to hand out at Diesel Power Challenge 2016, when it came to being top dog in Denver, only one driver could hold the cup—with two runners-up by his or her side of course. That winner is none other than Charlie Keeter, who muscled his 6.0L-powered ’04 Ford F-250 to DPC supremacy. Charlie’s podium performance, in almost every metric, is a testament to both his truck’s capabilities and his exemplary driving skill. His win was hard-fought and well deserved.
Photo 7/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards On The Podium
Giving Charlie a run for his money is Neal Torley, who brought his ’08 Ford F-250 across the nation to Colorado and posted similarly amazing numbers that earned him Second Place.
Rounding out the Top 3 is Ray McClelland, who took Third Place with his ’07 Dodge Ram 2500. With a win in the dyno segment and top-three finishes in a few other tests, consistency was clearly key to Ray’s success at DPC 2016.

People’s Choice

Photo 8/16   |   Looking frosty with its Pearl White paint and having posted a combined dyno score that was pretty much untouchable by any other competitor, Ray McClelland’s awesome ’07 Dodge Ram 2500 was unanimously selected as the winner of the People’s Choice Award for being the “one DPC truck that you would love to own.”
Photo 9/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards Peoples Choice

Driver’s Skill

Photo 10/16   |   Neal Torley backed up his rig’s power and style with his own superior driving skill; he was the only competitor in the field to complete all the skills tests with zero penalties.
Photo 11/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards Drivers Skill

Long Distance

Photo 12/16   |   Neal Torley towed his ’08 Ford F-250 1,773 miles from Florida to Denver (a mere 21 miles farther than Charlie Keeter’s trip from Virginia) and received the Diesel Power Challenge 2016 Long-Distance Award for making that long drive.
Photo 13/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards Long Distance


Photo 14/16   |   While four pistons in Jake Patterson’s 5.9L Cummins engine made the ultimate sacrifice during the DPC 2016 dyno competition, preventing Jake from continuing (and earning him the event’s Carnage Award), he still stayed with us until the very end, supporting other competitors despite his own devastating setback.
Photo 15/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards Guests
Photo 16/16   |   2016 Dpc Awards Podium