Off-road truck racing is tough business, but at the end of the season it was all worth it to Keith Steele, John Mason, and a host of other champion truck drivers who took part in the World Series of Off-Road Racing's (WSORR) 2008 season. The "Night of Champions" awards banquet took place in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, on October 4, where Steele and Mason shared the WSORR PRO Driver of the Year Award. Both drivers also were season class champions.

Steele also was named the top SRT (Sportsman) drive in 2008 and won a World Championship ring for his Super Truck title earned during the BorgWarner World Championship weekend at Crandon International Off-Road Raceway in Wisconsin. He made five trips to the podium during the awards night, the most of any driver ever for an end-of-season awards ceremony. For the 2008 racing season, he won eight races and finished on the podium in 11 of the 12 rounds of racing while piloting his Monster Energy Goodyear truck.

Mason, the co-PRO driver of the Year, achieved nine race podium finishes and four wins for the season in his Mendeola Goodyear Honda. He won the PRO Super Buggy title for 2008.

Goodyear was named the WSORR PRO Tire Manufacturer of the year for supplying the winning tires for the many victors of the WSORR off-road racing series. The tires primarily used were the Wrangler MT/R tires, which feature Goodyear's exclusive Durawall Technology.

All images courtesy of J&L photography.

A complete list of the 2008 WSORR winners can be found on the WSORR website.

Source: PR Newswire