More than 50 vehicles were considered, but only 11 trucks made the cut to be finalists for the 2009 North American Truck of the Year award. The award celebrates the best trucks of the year based on multiple factors, including innovation, design, safety, handling, driver satisfaction, and value. Fourteen passenger cars made the 2009 Car of the Year list.

To be eligible for the award, the finalist vehicles must be "all-new," or "substantially changed" from the previous model. The awards for North American Truck of the Year and Car of the Year are unique in that 50 automotive journalists form the U.S. and Canada decide the winners, not just a single publication. The winners will be announced on January 11 at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit. The winner for the 2008 Truck of the Year was the Mazda CX-9.

Finalists for the 2009 North American Truck of the Year include:

- BMW X6
- Chevrolet Traverse
- Dodge Ram
- Ford F-150
- Honda Pilot
- Infiniti FX35/50
- Kia Borrego
- Mercedes-Benz ML320 BlueTEC
- Nissan Murano
- Subaru Forester
- Volkswagen Tiguan

Learn more about the award at the official website.

Source: PR Newswire