In an unexpected announcement, Infiniti today revealed that its entire model lineup will be renamed for the 2014 model year. The last time we remember such a dramatic shift is when Lincoln began to name all of its models starting with "MK" and when Cadillac when to an all-alphanumeric naming scheme (minus the Navigator and Escalade).

Whereas the names of the current models reflect the engine size of the models, such as the QX56, powered by a 5.6-liter V-8, the FX37 powered by a 3.7-liter V-6, and the JX35 being powered by Nissan's ubiquitous corporate 3.5-liter VQ engine, the numerical portion of the new names designates the model's relative pecking order within the lineup, with the four sizes or statuses of Infiniti SUVs being designated by 50, 60, 70, and 80, respectively.

Why the sudden change? Johan de Nysschen, Infiniti brand president, said as the brand grows globally, the need for a simple and consistent naming strategy became apparent. The letter "Q" was selected for its heritage, being the designation of the brand's first flagship model, the Q45 sedan.

We've outlined the new names as it applies to the company's SUV models below. Do you think this makes Infiniti's brand positioning clearer, or just confuses potential customers?

Infiniti SUV Names
Current Name New Name (2014 Models)
QX56 QX80
FX37/50 QX70
JX35 QX60
EX37 QX50

Source: Infiniti