We then jumped back in the Terrain and made way to Old Mission Santa Ines just a couple miles down Mission Drive. Old Mission Santa Ines was founded on September 17, 1804 by Father Estevan Tapis. It is the 19th of the 21 California missions established by Franciscan priests from 1769 to 1823. The mission overlooks the Santa Ynez River Valley and the Santa Ynez and San Rafael mountain ranges. The mission survived the great earthquake in 1812, rebellions, social upheaval, neglect, and an "illegal sale" of property before President Lincoln returned the mission to the Catholic Church on May 23, 1862. It wasn't until 1947 when the mission began its tremendous renovation to restore it back to its original beauty, and what it is today.
We took the self-guided tour that led us through six rooms of history lessons and showcases. Each room has a colorful audio description that explains the events that took place within the mission's walls, and what happened in the valleys of the area during that time. Exiting the last room, we walked outside into the center of the mission, where we saw a Celtic cross-shaped garden with a serene fountain in the middle. The ornamental gardens located in the center of the mission surround the inside of the walls and open up to reveal the mission's sacred cemetery.