• |
  • |
  • NASCAR Releases Highlights of Top Moments from 2010 Truck Season

NASCAR Releases Highlights of Top Moments from 2010 Truck Season

Benson Kong
Dec 7, 2010
The 2010 NASCAR Truck Series has been over for a few weeks now, but the stock car racing organization itself has composed a list of the top moments from the year, as gleaned from discussions with the national series director, competition department, and PR managers. Here were their most memorable moments:
Photo 2/2   |   jason Young Nascar Truck Series Debut
Top Drivers (in alphabetical order)
Aric Almirola -- 2 wins, 11 top-five, 21 top-ten finishes
The driver who nearly found himself out of a racing seat multiple times over the last few years finished second in the standings. 2010 included his maiden series win at Dover in May before taking the top podium step at Michigan. Almirola is only the third driver in series history under the age of 30 to take the silver medal.
Todd Bodine -- 4 wins, 17 top-five, 20 top-ten finishes
Sometimes, experience triumphs over youth. Bodine earned his second Truck Series title this year thanks to consistency, and is now only the third driver in history to win multiple Truck Series titles (Ron Hornaday Jr. and Jack Sprague being the others).
Kyle Busch -- 8 wins, 13 top-five, 14 top-ten finishes
NASCAR's resident young gun debuted impressively in the season with his new, self-run team, racking up eight wins. He was edged in the driver standings but wrapped up the owner title at season's end. Can we expect more from Busch next season? We'd bet we could.
Top Breakthrough Performer of the Year
Austin Dillon -- 2 wins, 7 top-five, 16 top-ten finishes
This season's Rookie of the Year claimed an amazing seven pole positions. The previous rookie pole record was Greg Biffle's four. Dillon finished fifth in the driver standings and is only the second rookie in nine seasons to place within the top five.
Top Team Owner of the Year
Kyle Busch
Simply, Kyle Busch Motorsports is the first team since the Truck Series' first year in 1995 to take the owner championship but not the driver title. In all, Busch, Johnny Benson Jr., Brian Ickler, and Kasey Kahne helped wrap up the 25 races to earn KBM a place in the record books.
Comeback Driver of the Year
Jason White -- 3 top-five, 7 top-ten finishes
The tenth-place finisher is a career best for White. He's languished on a few middling teams over the past seasons and 2010 was his greatest yet.
James Buescher -- 6 top-five, 10 top-ten finishes
The eleventh-place finisher did well in 22 races with a startup team and was only 16 points away from the tenth spot.
Top Five Races of the Year (in chronological order)
Daytona -- NextEra Energy Resources 250 (February 13)
Kansas -- O'Reilly Auto Parts 250 (May 2)
Iowa -- Lucas Oil 200 (July 11)
Pocono -- Pocono Mountains 125 (July 31)
Talladega -- Mountain Dew 250 (October 30)
Click here to see what NASCAR has to say about the season.
Source: NASCAR
- OF



Subscribe Today and Save up to 83%!

Subscribe Truck Trend Magazine

Subscribe to:

Truck Trend

Subscribe Diesel Power Magazine

Subscribe to:

Diesel Power

Subscribe Truckin Magazine

Subscribe to: