• |
  • |
  • Volkswagen Takes Third Consecutive Overall Win at Dakar, Dominates Podium

Volkswagen Takes Third Consecutive Overall Win at Dakar, Dominates Podium

Scott Evans
Jan 18, 2011
If you know how to beat Volkswagen at the annual Dakar Rally, there are several teams who would love to hear from you. The German automaker just won its third Dakar in a row and swept the podium for the second consecutive year.
Photo 2/5   |   Volkswagen Wins 2011 Dakar Driver
You may not see many Touaregs on the trails where you live, but if you live along the new Dakar route, you can’t miss ‘em. The Race Touareg 3, making its debut at this year’s Dakar Rally, has proved just as dominating as the Touareg 2 helping the Volkswagen teams to take first, second, third and sixth place overall. Not only did the four diesel-powered rigs sweep the field, but they won 12 of the 13 stages on the 5965-mile course.
Though the four trucks traded stage wins, the overall win went to Nasser Al-Attiyah of Qatar and his co-driver Timo Gottschalk of Germany. With the win, Al-Attiyah becomes the first Arab to ever win Dakar with a total time of 45 hours, 16 minutes and 16 seconds. Meanwhile, his teammate, Carlos Sainz, broke the all-time record for individual stage wins claiming his 24th winning the 13th and final stage of this year’s rally. He also finished just minutes ahead of the previous record holder and Volkswagen’s closest competitor Stephane Peterhansel of BMW.

Pos Team Vehicle Leg 13 Total time
1 Al-Attiyah / Gottschalk (Q/D) Volkswagen Race Touareg 3 1h 16m 46s (2) 45h 16m 16s
2 de Villiers / von Zitzewitz (ZA/D) Volkswagen Race Touareg 3 1h 18m 06s (4) + 49m 41s
3 Sainz / Cruz (E/E) Volkswagen Race Touareg 3 1h 16m 08s (1) + 1h 20m 38s
4 Peterhansel / Cottret (F/F) BMW X3 CC 1h 19m 05s (6) + 1h 43m 48s
5 Holowczyc / Fortin (PL/B) BMW X3 CC 1h 17m 33s (3) + 4h 11m 21s
6 Miller / Pitchford (USA/ZA) Volkswagen Race Touareg 3 1h 18m 10s (5) + 4h 54m 42s
7 dos Santos / Fiuza (P/P) BMW X3 CC 1h 27m 16s (11) + 6h 50m 07s
8 Lavieille / Polato (F/F) Nissan Proto 1h 25m 07s (10) + 7h 57m 18s
9 Spinelli / Haddad (BR/BR) Mitsubishi Racing Lancer 1h 20m 06s (7) + 8h 23m 37s
10 Kahle / Schünemann (D/D) Buggy SMG 1h 28m 02s (12) + 15h 11m 56s
Source: Volkswagen, Newspress Ltd



Subscribe Today and Save up to 83%!

Subscribe Truck Trend Magazine

Subscribe to:

Truck Trend

Subscribe Diesel Power Magazine

Subscribe to:

Diesel Power

Subscribe Truckin Magazine

Subscribe to: